Hindu Holy Books

There is no single holy book in Hinduism, unlike some other religions. Hindu scriptures are many and include the Bhagavad Gita, Ramayana, Mahabharata, the Vedas and the Upanishads. Read on to learn more about

Hindu holy books.

Bhagavad Gita

This book is part of the Mahabharata. It essentially encapsulates the advice given by Lord Krishna to Arjuna in the Kurukshetra battlefield. Arjuna is worried and doubtful about performing his duty as a warrior as the foes arrayed against him include his relatives and known ones. Krishna advises Arjuna to perform his righteous duty as a warrior without worrying about the fruits of his actions. Krishna says though our human body may perish any time, the soul is immortal. This

Hindu holy book

has inspired many eminent people over the ages including Mahatma Gandhi.


This Hindu epic narrates the inspiring tale of Lord Rama, one of Vishnu’s incandescent incarnations. Even today, Rama is considered as a role model by many Hindus. This is because he unswervingly treads on the path of righteousness, even in troubling times. The reign of Rama is considered as one which upheld truth and ideal living. Ramayana is thus a major

Hindu holy book

that still inspires people even in this day and age.


This book is the other major Hindu epic apart from Ramayana. This epic tale narrates the story of the five Pandava brothers, their wife Draupadi and their war with their wicked cousins, the Kauravas. Lord Krishna, another incarnation of Vishnu, plays a major role in this epic. The Mahabharata serves to instruct and entertain at the same time. A close look at this

Hindu holy book

will reveal fascinating insights into the human psyche.

The Vedas

There are four major vedas which are Rig, Sama, Yajur and Atharva veda. It is believed that these

Hindu holy books

were initially transmitted through word of mouth. These scriptures detail how to perform Hindu ceremonies and rituals. Hindus still conduct their sacrifices and prayers based on the Vedas.

The Upanishads

There are more than 200 Upanishads among which Isa Upanishad, Kena Upanishad and Katha Upanishad are the most important. Each Upanishad dwells on a singular theme. The Upanishads clearly elaborate on various important Hindu concepts such as reincarnation, karma, meditation, yoga and self-realization. Any person seeking to realize his/her inner self should read the Upanishads and imbibe the hoary knowledge espoused in them.

Comments are closed.